Parliament, Thursday, 23 September 2021 – The Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services has published the names of 31 candidates on Parliament’s website for public comment for the four vacant positions on the Information Regulator.

In terms of the Protection of Personal Information Act of 2013, members of the regulator must be appropriately qualified, fit and proper South African citizens. Furthermore, at least one of those appointed must have experience as a practising advocate or attorney, or as a professor of law at a university; and the remainder must be appointed on account of any other qualifications, expertise and experience relating to the objects of the regulator.

All comments should be sent to Mr V Ramaano via email at The closing dates for the comments is 6 October 2021 at 16h30. Please find the list of the CVs below:

Adv Braun
Adv F Magano
Adv JC Weapond

Adv LC Stroom-Nzama
Adv N Ntsaluba 
Adv P Sekhula 
Dr B Tladi-Sem 
Dr N Mgcotyelwa-Ntoni 
Mr A Latchu 
Mr B Swans 
Mr E Pillay 
Mr FV Gwala 
Mr JPL Grimbeek 
Mr P Mashile 
Mr TJ Moremi 
Mr TV Micheli 
Mr W Mailula 
Ms A Baniparsadh 
Ms BT Tys 
Ms EZ Makula 
Ms FDP Tlakula 
Ms K Mahlangu  
Ms LS Somo 
Ms M Masemula 
Ms TM Mosala 
Ms V Qinga Vika 
Prof JCW van Rooyen 
Prof M Ngoepe 
Prof SL SnailkaMtuze


For media enquiries or interviews with the Chairpersons, please contact:

Name: Rajaa Azzakani (Ms)
Tel: 021 403 8437
Cell: 081 703 9542