Have Your Say: The Cybercrimes and Cybersecurity Bill [B6–2017]

Submissions and Hearings

The Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services invites stakeholders and interested persons to submit written submissions on the Cybercrimes and Cybersecurity Bill [B6 – 2017]:

The purpose of the Cybercrimes and Cybersecurity Amendment Bill is to:

  • create offences and impose penalties which have a bearing on cybercrime;
  • criminalise the distribution of data messages which is harmful and to provide for interim protection orders;
  • further regulate jurisdiction in respect of cybercrimes;
  • further regulate the powers to investigate cybercrimes;
  • further regulate aspects relating to mutual assistance in respect of the investigation of cybercrime;
  • provide for the establishment of a 24/7 Point of Contact;
  • further provide for the proof of certain facts by affidavit;
  • impose obligations on electronic communications service providers and financial institutions to assist in the investigation of cybercrimes and to report cybercrimes;
  • provide for the establishment of structures to promote cybersecurity and capacity building;
  • regulate the identification and declaration of critical information infrastructures and measures to protect critical information infrastructures;
  • provide that the Executive may enter into agreements with foreign States to promote cybersecurity;
  • delete and amend provisions of certain laws; and
  • provide for matters connected therewith.

Submissions must be received by no later than 10 August 2017. Please indicate your interest in making a verbal presentation. Public hearings will be held in Parliament.  

Submissions and enquiries must be directed to Mr V Ramaano, Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services, 3rd Floor, 90 Plein Street, Cape Town, 8000 or emailed to vramaano@parliament.gov.za.

Copies of the Bill may be obtained from Mr V Ramaano, tel: (021) 403-3820 or 083 709 8427 or www.parliament.gov.za  

Issued by Hon. Dr Mathole Motshekga, MP, Chairperson: PC on Justice and Correctional Services